First Series (bitesize): Jay, 30

Last week we attended an empowering women’s networking event organised by the Hustle and Heels Ladies!. We caught up with one half of the dynamic duo to discuss her thoughts and feelings around starting her period! 

When did you start your period?

I was still in primary school, I was in Year six.  I was at my friend’s house and went to the toilet, only to realise that I was on my period. I didn’t know what the hell was going on. I hadn’t had the conversation beforehand so it was all a massive shock!

Who did you tell first?

My friend’s mother. I just went out and told her, she was like “this is fine, all this is normal”. She spoke it through with me and then gave me my first pad.

Did school talk to you about periods ? 

I don’t remember school telling me anything about it. I remember having the “period talk” when I was in secondary school – but definitely not primary school.

Upon Reflections… 

I wish I had the information beforehand. 

As if you are prepared for something, you know what to expect –  That’s all you can ask for.

 To get more information on Hustle & Heels events , click link

Hustle & Heels Instagram page

Have a minute? Please support our Government Petition 

Leave a Reply

